history

In history I see a familiarity
Most unsettling.
We do not share a physical bond
No, not my family!
Holding hands is uncommon…
Not a thing to be felt.

Down generations…
I always wanted to know why.

You shouted at me for a moment,
In a glimpse I saw the irritation,
Then I saw the pictures…
Of generations long gone
Of ancestors who passed down the curse…
The curse that drives 13 generations!
People who never know why…
Daddy would not hold his hands,
Mummy won’t give her hugs;
Sister can never hug her from behind
Taju wouldn’t take our hands touching!

Across generations,
I saw the bridge that separated blood.
The voice that cried unspoken,
Of a bond lost!
Of a right lost!

the right to an affectionate hug or just a touch from family.

Leave a Reply

