In history I see a familiarity
Most unsettling
We do not share a physical bond
No not my family!
Holding hands is uncommon…
Not a thing to be felt

Down generations…
I always wanted to know why
You shouted @ me for a moment
In a glimpse I saw the irritation
Then I saw the pictures
Of generations long gone
Of ancestors who passed down the curse…
The curse that drives 13 generations
People who never knew why…
Daddy would not hold his hands
Mummy won’t give her hugs
Sister can never hug her from behind
Ade wouldn’t take our hands touching!

Across generations
I saw the bridge that seperated blood
The voice that cried unspoken
Of a bond lost
Of a loss of right
The right to an affectionate hug or just a touch from family.

Leave a Reply

